Echevarne Foundation National Oncology Award

2018 - VII Echevarne Foundation National Oncology Award
In this seventh call, Echevarne Foundation wishes to reward the scientific effort in the field of oncology that has been directed to know the basic mechanisms of cell transformation, tumor progression and metastatic dissemination and thus be able to distinguish those advances that have allowed an improvement in the diagnosis, characterization and treatment of one or more types of cancer.

Dr. Elías Campo: VII Echevarne Foundation National Oncology Award

Dr. Elías Campo, awarded for his research on genetics and molecular biology of human leukemia.

The Echevarne Foundation has awarded Doctor Elías Campo, a pathologist and Spanish researcher, for his work in the field of genetics and molecular biology of human leukemia. He is considered a pioneer and an international leader in the search for lymphocytic leukemia and lymphoma in mantle cells, and the work of his laboratory, along with projects in collaboration with other national and international researchers, has managed to decipher the genome of the disease, which made it possible to advance in its diagnosis. 


The Echevarne Foundation granted the VI National Oncology Award to Dr. Manel Esteller, Director of the Program of Epigenetics and Cancer Biology at Bellvitge Institute for Biomedical Research (IDIBELL), Head of the Cancer Epigenetics Group, Professor of Genetics, School of Medicine, University of Barcelona and ICREA Research Professor. The award was granted to the work "Cancer Epigenomics: From knowledge to applications" Esteller work focuses on the study of epigenetic mechanisms, revealing that a number of non-genetic factors are involved in the development of our body as well as in multiple diseases due to their aberrant changes. His studies have provided important contributions to the understanding of the behaviour of cancer cells, especially in the deregulation of tumor suppressor genes and repetitive sequences in cancer. Due in part to these studies new diagnostic tests are being developed and new applications of epigenetic drugs’ treatments are being tested, especially to fight cancer.

Dr. Manel Esteller: VI Echevarne Foundation National Oncology Award

In its sixth edition, Echevarne Foundation rewards the scientific effort that has most contributed to the development of knowledge of cancer genomes, their alterations, transcriptomes and/or epigenome and its functional interpretation in cell transformation and/or tumor progression, including metastatic spread. The Award consists of € 50,000, and goes to a single researcher for his scientific results.

Dr. Manel Esteller


The Echevarne Foundation celebrated in December 2010 its V National Oncology Award. The selection committee accorded unanimously to bestow this year's award to Dr. Eugenio Santos, director of the National Center of Cancer and finder of the first oncogen in human tumors. The award was to recognize the impact of his work on the broad scope of translational medicine, and also to recognize his professional career on oncology research.


The 2007 edition was specifically designed to promote the recognition of research efforts in the translational aspects of molecular oncology, bridging the gap between the lab and the clinic. The 2007 award was awarded exaequa to Professors Emili Montserrat and Jesús F. San Miguel for their respective contributions: “The ZAP-70 protein as a therapeutic algorithm in chronic lymphocytic leukaemia” and “Myeloma cellular biology and its applications in multiple myeloma treatment”. Professor Emili Montserrat graduated in medicine from the University of Salamanca and received is doctorate degree from the University of Barcelona. He is currently Professor of Medicine and director of the Institut d'Hematologia i Oncologia at the Hospital Clínic in Barcelona. Founder member of the International workshop on Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia and consultor to the WHO in his speciality. He has been president of the European Hematology Association, and he is currently a member of the international committee of the American Society of Hematology and of the editorial board of the most relevant journals in the field.

Professor Jesús F. San Miguel graduated in Medicine from the University of Navarra and obtained his PhD from the University of Salamanca. He is currently Professor of Medicine in Salamanca, and senior registrar at the Hematología department of the University Hospital of Salamanca and Vice-director of the Centro de Investigación del Cáncer in the same city. Founder member of the european myeloma network and of the scientific committee of the International Myeloma Fundation and the Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation. He was recently distinguished with the Waldenstrom Award for his research in the field of myeloma.


The third edition of the Fundacion Echevarne Oncology National Award took place in 2003., the year Fundación celebrated its 10th anniversary. The prize was awarded ex-aequo to Drs. Xose Bustelo and Manuerl Serrano for their research on the "Functional characterization of the Vav oncoprotein family and on the "Tumour supression mechanisms in response to oncogenic stress", respectively.
Xose Bustelo, obtained his first degree in Biology and his PhD at the University of Santiago de Compostela. He then worked as a postdoctoral fellow with Dr. Mariano Barbacid at the Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceutical Research Institute (Princeton, New Jersey-USA) and he is currently a group leader at the Salamanca Cancer rResearch Centre (CIC) as well as general coordinator of the Genomics and Proteomics spanish network of cancer centres.

Manuel Serrano, PhD, was an undergraduate at the Autonomous University of Madrid, were he also obtained his PhD degree in the Centre for Molecular Biology Severo Ochoa, at the Spanish Research Council (CSIC). He then followed his research as a postdoctoral fellow with Dr. David Leach at the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, (New York, USA). He currently runs a research group at the Spanish Oncology Research Centre (CNIO) in Madrid.


The Second National Prize was held in 1999. It was won by Dr. María A. Blasco for her work on "The Implication of Telomerase and Telomeres in Chromosomic Instability and Cancer".

María Blasco graduated and obtained her PhD at the Autonomous University of Madrid. She initiated her studies on the activity of the enzyme Telomerase and its implication in cancer during her Post-Doctoral stay at the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory in New York (1993-1996). Nowadys, she leads the Oncology Molecular Program, in the CINIO on Madrid.

The study and identification of the genes implicated in these telomeric maintenance mechanisms is fundamental in order to understand the progession of tumours.


In 1995 the first Echevarne Foundation National Oncology Award was held.

The winner was Dr. Carlos López-Otín for his work on the "Structural and Functional Identification and Characterisation of new Proteolytic Enzymes and inhibtors of Proteases associated with Mammarian Carcinoma".

Carlos López-Otín graduated and obtained his PhD at the Complutense University of Madrid. His work was the result of several years of investigation on the molecular processes governing breast cancer cell dissemination. Since 1993 he has been Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology in the Medical Faculty of the University of Oviedo.